Oz the Great and Powerful: Review

via

I have never actually read the Oz series (I know) so this movie was a great surprise to me–meaning, I didn’t know what was going to happen.

This movie was stupendous.  I loved how it paid tribute to the original 1930s classic by starting in black and white, having Oz go up in a tornado, and landing (in color) in the land of Oz.  Although, I’ll admit that when I first saw the CGI of the land of Oz and how everything was created, I had a terrible flashback to Tim Burton’s remake Alice in Wonderland and began to be verrrry skeptical of the movie.  Although this director–whoever he may be–certainly did not disappoint.

The movie was beautiful.  I loved the colors, the costumes, the people.  It had a couple unexpected twists (if you’re like me and never read the book; otherwise, I hear it’s fairly close to the original story) and I was enthralled the whole way through.  And that’s definitely not a feeling I often feel with movies.

5 stars, 2 thumbs up, and a round of applause of Oz The Great and Powerful.

Leave a Reply

