This book is not about Batman…

Since quitting my job, I have a lot more time on my hands and a lot less money.  A few months ago I picked up a slew of books from Goodwill for about $2, and on our trip to Texas I read In the Shadow of Gotham by Stephanie Pintoff.

 

This book is not about Batman, as my husband originally thought.  It’s a murder mystery, set in New York City in 1905.  Detective Simon Ziele leaves the City for the suburbs after his fiance died when the General Slocum ferry caught fire.  While looking for a slow pace and quiet life, he happens upon the most gruesome murder the town has ever seen, and he sets out to solve it.

If you watch millions of crime shows and read tons of mystery books, you’ll probably find this book fairly predictable, like I did.  I didn’t find it a “read I couldn’t put down,” although I didn’t put it down because what else are you supposed to do on a plane?  But I did enjoy it, although probably more for the time period than anything else.  There’s a part in the book where they talk about fingerprinting, and how it’s helped to solve a lot of mysteries, even though a lot of cops don’t trust it.  There’s also whole sections about the beginnings of psychological behavior in criminals–think Criminal Minds–that was also interesting.

Overall, I give the book 3 out of 5 stars, and I’m currently looking for the sequel in the library or Goodwill to read next.

Leave a Reply

