I’m still getting rid of all the stuff…

Lately I’ve been reading this book:

It’s #amazingandawesome.  And really easy to read.

So anyway, Lucado basically tears apart Psalm 23 and digs in deep verse by verse.  He gets to the second part of the first verse (…I shall not want…) and proceeds to talk about the very thing I’ve been dealing with this entire summer:  all the things.

I’m not going to summarize the chapter for you, you should just buy a copy and read it.  But I will tell you what stood out to me the most:

  • 1 Samuel 16:7  The Lord does not look at the things people look at.  People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.
  • “Define yourself by your stuff, and you’ll feel good when you have a lot and bad when you don’t.”  (pg 31).  I tried saying this earlier, but he words it way better.
  • Our stuff isn’t ours.  We come into the world empty handed and leave the same way.  Why must we keep accumulating when we don’t get to take it with us anyway?
  • “You have a God who hears you, the power of love behind you, the Holy Spirit within you, and all of heaven ahead of you…You have everything you need.” (pg 32)

Like I said before:  #amazingandawesome.

I just hope I can continue to remember this.

Leave a Reply

