Getting rid of the foodstuffs.

As I was sitting down to eat breakfast the other morning, I was hit so hard with a thought that just had to be from God.

Food is just another example of stuff.

Okay, so if you’ve read all my stuff posts, then you know that the more I’m tangibly ridding my house of stuff, the more God has shown me the stuff I’ve got inside that I also need to get rid of.  Stuff in my mind and in my heart.  And this week I’m working on the stuff in my mouth, the foodstuffs.

Obviously, I need food.  But do I need so much of it?  Do I need 100 different types of granola bars?  Do I need all the brands of Cap’n Crunch cereal?  Do I need every ingredient to make every dinner recipe on Pinterest?

This is not a plea to become organic, Paleo, Gluten-free, Whole30, <insert choice of foodie lifestyle here>.  This is more about the fact that what goes in my body clutters up my health/well-being just as much as a closet full of clothes I never wear clutters up my house, or an hour on Pinterest clutters up my mind.  The endless decisions on what to eat for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, and all the snacks in between clutters up my mind and doesn’t leave much room for other decision making–like, Should I apply for that job?  The endless amount of food I put in my body doesn’t leave room for the good stuff, like those fruits&veggies get through and do their thing.  The endless amount of money spent on food doesn’t leave much room to pay for other things, like bills.  And when you’re on one income, paying for bills is important.

How do I unclutter my life from food?  I definitely don’t think the answer lies in steering toward one specific type of foodie way, like vegan, because then I’m just making vegan-ism the idol in my life.  I’m just replacing the food clutter with vegan food clutter, which is just as unhealthy.  But if I don’t do that, what do I do?

I’m not sure what the answer is, but I do know the answer can be found in Him.

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; you were bought at a price.  Therefore  honor God with your bodies.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

 

2 thoughts on “Getting rid of the foodstuffs.

  1. Good post! Have you read “Made to Crave” by Lysa Terkeurst? I haven’t either but am reading her book Unglued. But the reviews and comments I’ve heard about “Made to Crave” are just like what you’ve mentioned.

Leave a Reply

