This book really is about princesses.

How I’ve gone through 25 years of life and never read A Little Princess is beyond me.  And now I’m kicking myself for not reading it earlier, because I’ve missed all the time I could’ve had re-reading the book.

Okay, so the title of this blog is a lie in the fact that there are no actual princesses.  Just an adorable, lovable, precocious little girl who loves to pretend to be a princess so much she is able to get through the hardest times of her life with this awesome attitude.

I think it’s safe to say that 90% of the world has seen the adorable movie based on the book, so I don’t think I’m just going to jump right in.

Very much the way the movie begins, Sara Crewe has lived her whole life in India with her extremely rich father who has endlessly spoiled her.  Somehow, Sara doesn’t become a brat with all the presents, but with her vivid imagination and knack for storytelling, she makes friends with all creatures great and small and can entice even a sourpuss like Lavinia into one of her fantastical stories.  Sara’s father goes into the business of diamond mining when something catastrophic happens and Sara is left penniless.  Miss Minchin turns her into a servant girl, like Becky, who is one of her greatest friends, and she is left to serve out the rest of her days as a horrible wretch.  The whole time evil Minchin tries to bring her down, Sara continuously deflects any of her harsh words with the air of a princess, and she repeats in her head, “What would a princess do?”  This is how she is able to overcome even the worst days of her servanthood.

I won’t give away the ending, because it is the one part in the book that is vastly different than the movie.  I actually liked the book ending better than the movie, since it seemed way more realistic.

I loved the naivete of Sara, and how innocent she was; especially in the age of Miley Cyrus.  I enjoyed how childlike she stayed, even though she aged considerably in the book and should’ve showed signs of more maturity.  I loved that the childlike wonder was consistent throughout, so that it would stay applicable to a young reader, who doesn’t age.

A million thumbs up for this book.  I will definitely re-read, re-read, and re-read this book as well as keep it around for future child.

And if anyone knows where to get this movie in DVD form, let a girl know, mmmkay?

Leave a Reply

