Fall Bold Intentions Check-In

DSCN8674sd

 

It’s been about a month since I posted my fall bold intentions, and I have to say, I wish I had done this sooner.

1.  Get the house into shape:  DONE!

2. Create a morning routine.

I tried.  And I tried.  And I tried.  And I’m still trying.    My mother was a morning person.  She’d get up when it was still dark out and shower, fix her hair, get dressed and ready for the day, and cook breakfast before she woke up me or my brother.  She did this every.single.morning for as long as I can remember.   I long to be that person.  But, I’m not.  So to create a morning routine is more of something I have to practice to get right, since it doesn’t come naturally.

It didn’t take me long to realize that I had no idea how to create a morning routine when I didn’t even know what I wanted it to look like.  So I thought and thought about it, and wrote down the things I was looking for.  And then I started substituting more and more and I learned that it’s just so dang hard to create a morning routine when I can start work anytime between 7am and 9am.   This is where practicality comes in.  I’m being practical when I say that right now, in this crazy season of my life, to create a morning routine that looks like my mother’s is completely impractical.  So I’m approaching the mornings from a three point perspective:  shower/get ready, eat breakfast, read the Bible.  That’s it.  That’s how it’s going to start.  And it’s completely practical of me to think that I can get those three things done.

3. Pray more intentionally.

As always, this has been pushed aside in this crazy day-to-day schedule of mine.  So for the rest of October, I’m working on putting this in the forefront, and I think that this new morning routine is going to help big time.

4. Write more.

This is going pretty good, although I’ll admit that it’s pretty much strictly related to the blog and my prayer journal.  So I’m going to try to work on expanding this to other realms, and this is where, once again, practicality comes in.  How can I expect to write when I don’t even write it down on my to-do list??  I’m not quite sure how to incorporate this into my non-existent routine, so I’m going to focus on this more, too.  (I’ll have to, if I want to get this new eBook idea on the table.  More about that later….)

I’m also finding that writing out these bold intentions is a very practical way to help me enjoy this season of life.  It’s difficult, when you don’t have a consistent routine or consistent anything, but so far, I’m loving this fall.

What about you?  Do you have bold intentions?  What are they?  How do you practically and successfully carry out these intentions?  And how is it impacting your life?

Leave a Reply

