Beautiful Creatures Book Review: If Twilight was backwards, this would be the book.

After waiting for a very long time, I finally got a hold of Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.  I eagerly dug into it, and let me just say:  DISAPPOINTMENT.

Actually, disappointment doesn’t even begin to cover it.  

Okay, so it’s not terrible.  Really, it’s not.  But I’m pretty sure if Twilight was told backwards, this would be the book.  Like, if Bella was the vampire and Edward was the lovestruck teenager, that would be this book.  Only it’s about witches.  Or “casters,” really.  And it’s not like any witches portrayed on any of anything.  (Much like the vampires in Twilight.)  And there was so much packed into that book, I still don’t quite get all this caster business.  And in over 500 pages, I expected a little more information than what I got.

What I probably didn’t like the most was the narrator.  I mean, I like Ethan, I just don’t like him as a narrator.  A teenage boy narrator is problematic in several ways:  boys don’t pay attention to details, teenage boys are never lovestruck, and they can’t have the same emotions as a girl.  So Ethan shouldn’t be expected to notice what color the sky was turning, or how many times Lena’s hair was curling, or that what she was wearing.  Boys wouldn’t know that.  But narrators have to know all these details. And it made Ethan seem really lame.  There was also a lot of awkward sentences, like when they were sitting outside at night and Lena’s pajamas were green and purple and “kind of Chinese.”  I mean, what does that mean?  It’s like Ethan was saying, “I’m noticing details event though I’m a boy so I’m gonna just taper off like I don’t know what I’m saying anymore.”

Ethan has to be in love with Lena, sure, but teenage boys don’t gawk at girls–at least not with pure love, I’ll give you lust–and they’re not going to sit around moping about how the love of their life doesn’t want to love them back.  They rarely use the “L” word.  Again, lamesauce.

And the problem with Ethan as the narrator is that he has to be around to tell us everything, because they mistakenly made him semi-omniscient.  When Amma and Macon meet, he has to follow her out there, something I don’t think his character would ever do unless he needs to tell a story.  And when Amma stops time at Thanksgiving to talk to Lena, he has to listen, otherwise we would never know what happens.  Everyone keeps saying that he’s got to have all these unknown powers.  He doesn’t.  He’s just a narrator who has to do stuff in order to keep the story going.

I also HATED how at the end of the book it spins completely to Lena’s perspective.  NO.  You can’t do that, guys.  If you’re going to use perspectives, use two perspectives.  Don’t change AT THE LAST MINUTE.  

I couldn’t help but note how remarkably different the movie was from the book.   Almost like they were two completely different stories. 
I have to say, I liked the movie better (especially that ending).  And the movie isn’t really even that good.

I’ll be honest, I will most likely check out the next book in the series.  A story has to be just extremely bad or terribly written for me to not see it all the way through, even if I did put this book down several times with the intention of not picking it back up again. But I don’t give the second too much hope.

Leave a Reply

