#FridayReads: NonFiction Woes

I’m not that great at reading nonfiction.  Which means that for the first time in my entire life I’m not receiving very good marks on my grad school essays–I not only prefer to read fiction, I prefer to write it, too.  In an effort to make myself more knowledgeable in this field, I’ve decided to make a point to check out at least one fiction book each time I go to the library.  

Normally, I don’t have anything special in mind when looking for nonfiction books.  I generally lean toward books centered on education, since it’s my current field, and I’m not quite sure how to break out of that mold.  I usually just wander up and down the aisles and pick a book that looks interesting, or has a cute cover.  Not always the best, but at least I’m learning about what topics are out there.

The results are below:

Non fiction

A Different Kind of Teacher:  Solving the Crisis of American Schooling by John Taylor Gatto:  A great, easy read that gives an insight to the New York public school system.  Gatto was an educator for years before he went around talking about how education needs reform.  I’m not sure how much I agree with him, but I thought his stance was interesting.

Bringing up Bebe: One American Mother Discovers the Wisdom of French Parenting by Pamela Druckerman:  I’ve seen this pop up on mommy blogs and I really wanted to read it, so I decided to wait until I was pregnant.  But then, I’m #notpregnant, and I saw it at the library and just decided to go for it.  I have to say, this is pretty awesome.  I felt like my teaching style was very parallel to the French parenting style Druckerman describes, and I’m eager to see how this will translate over to being a mom.  #stillnotpregnant

French Women Don’t Get Fat:  Secrets for Enjoying Food, Having Fun, and Staying Thin by Mireille Guiliano:  I’d heard of this book when it first came out, and thought the title was dumb.  But all throughout Bringing Up Bebe Druckerman references this book and conversations she’s had with the author, so I decided to look into it. Normally I don’t like to make such bold statements, but it seriously changed the way I think about food.  I don’t recommend this as a diet book by any means, but I do recommend it to all Americans who know no other way of eating besides what the supermarkets offer.

And my recent to-reads:

The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff:  One of my favorite childhood reads, I read it to my first graders last year and fell back in love with it.  I’ve read a section of this book before in a literary class, so when I came upon it at the library I thought I’d go for it.

Twentieth Century Interpretations of Pride and Prejudice:  A Collection of Critical Essays edited by E. Rubinstein:   P&P is easily my favorite classic novel, and after hearing a lecture on it in my Early Brit Lit class in college I fell even more in love.  So I’m looking forward to this book–a stray from highly narrated memoirs to something a little more traditional in the nonfiction sense.

What nonfiction books have you enjoyed lately?  Any recommendations?

 

Leave a Reply

