DIY Thanksgiving Banner

Remember how I really wanted to intentionally live in the moment and enjoy this season?  So I made my first ever fall decorations??

Well, it worked.
Like, I have thoroughly soaked in every moment of this season that I have surprised myself.
It worked so much that I got tired of the fall decorations and I’m now eagerly anticipating Christmas–which is a first since it’s not my favorite holiday.

My husband was all for setting up the tree and putting up ornaments, but I just can’t do that to Thanksgiving (which really is the best holiday ever).  So I decided to make Thanksgiving decorations.  DIY Leaf banner

It was wicked easy.  I went outside and picked some of the biggest and prettiest leaves, came inside and hot glued bunches together and strung them on yellow ribbon.  I wrote out some scripture verses on cards and clothespin-ed them onto the string.  It looked a little bare at first, so I put the book page leaves back on.

leafy banner

Can I just say that I love a good banner hanging on my staircase?  I can’t wait to decorate it with garland for Christmas.  For now, I replaced the “happy fall” banner with this one.  I just printed the letters out on 4×6 cardstock, attached some freshly picked leaves at the end, and called it a day.  In fact, I even reused the burlap string that held the first banner.  #wastenotwantnot

Give thanks banner

yeah, that’s my dog photobombing the pic

I wish I had taken a picture before the leaves all dried up and crinkled.  At first I didn’t like it, but it’s grown on me, and I love the color that it adds.

I wanted to do more, but I didn’t really have a lot of time.  Life has been wayyyy too busy lately.  But for now I’m enjoying savoring the season and the fall holidays.

What do you do to help you enjoy the season?  Any good holiday DIYs to share?

Leave a Reply

