Fall Reads

I’m late with posting my fall reads, but here ya go!

The Pregnancy Project by Gaby Rodriguez with Jenna Glatzer: Read my review here.

Tiger Lily by Jodi Anderson:  I was excited to see this book in the library, because I so thoroughly enjoyed Anderson’s Peaches series.  What’s interesting about Tiger Lily is that it’s told from Tinkerbell’s point of view, and it’s about how Tiger Lily falls in love with Peter Pan, and the complications that develop in her personal life, in her relationships with her tribe, and the character development of both her and Peter.  It’s an interesting concept, and a sort-of interesting story, but it just didn’t capture me the way that Peaches did, although that might just be because of my own personal style, not because it’s not a good book.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn:  Read the review here.
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl:  Read my review here.
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern:  Read my review here.
Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth:  I hate starting series when I have to wait for the next books to come out, so that’s what I’m currently doing with this one.  I’m not sure how I feel about this series so far.  It’s definitely entertaining and kept me reading–I can’t wait to see the movie–and at the end of Insurgent I’m pretty sure I gasped aloud, but there’s just something about it that troubles me.  I’m waiting to read the final installment before I do a more thorough review.
Broken Harbor by Tana French:  It’s no secret that Tana French is one of my favorite mystery authors, because she does such a great job at making her words poetic and making the mystery, well, mysterious.  This fourth book of hers was my favorite and least favorite all in one–My favorite mystery, my least favorite back story.  But still, I recommend the book.  Especially if you love a good thriller.

If I Stay and Just One Day by Gayle Forman:  I enjoyed both these books for what they were–YA stories about identity and figuring out who you are.  

Other books I read this fall and would recommend:

The Case of the Missing Servant, A Vish Puri Mystery by Tarquin Hall
The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
Something Borrowed  and Something Blue by Emily Giffin
I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

What did you read this fall?  Which ones are your favorites?  Have you read any of the ones I recommended here?  What did you think about them?

Leave a Reply

