#FridayReads: A random yet interesting find

I’ve been pulling books off at random at the library lately, hoping for a good one.  Mostly I’ve been getting duds, but this one was a win in such a big way.

DSCN8993

I’ve been obsessed with Anne Frank’s story ever since I read her Diary when I was about 13 or so.  It was probably the book I most frequently checked out of the library until I got my own copy.  My dad found the 1959 movie based on the book at his school library and brought it home one day.  I think I’ve read the book and watched the movie about twice a year since.  The husband still can’t understand why we own the book and movie and what my fascination with it.  I don’t really understand it myself.  I think it must how World War II is romanticized in a very real, non-fiction sort of way.

As much as I love the book, I always wondered about the other characters and what happens after the diary ends.  For example, Anne lived such a big life in that tiny attic, what were the others thinking and feeling and doing?  Were they writing diaries?   What were their life dreams and big goals for when they got out?  And when the Nazis found them and took them to the camps, what happened there?

Apparently I’m not the only one who has ever wondered this, because Jillian Cantor basically has answered all my questions with her book Margot.

This is the story of Margie Franklin, who is really Margot Frank, after the war is over and she has fled to Pennsylvania and created a new life for herself.  The book opens the day the movie premieres.  How weird would that be to be so well-known yet never quite famous and then to see yourself on the big screen?

What I liked most about the book was the inner struggle with Margot to accept what has happened to her and to learn how to merge who she was with who she is now.  I think Cantor does an excellent job with keeping the main storyline moving while fully developing Margot’s character.Even if you don’t care for this piece of history, this is definitely a must-read.

2 thoughts on “#FridayReads: A random yet interesting find

Leave a Reply

