Tackling the G-word

I’ve been on this mission to get rid of all the stuff in our house and how it’s doing amazing things within my spirit.  The entire way I view the world and myself in it has changed drastically since I started.  So it should probably come as no surprise when I woke up one morning with the G-word stuck in my head.

That’s right.  Gluttony.

Gluttony is an ugly word.  I’m speaking phonetically.  It’s a guttural sound.  And it conjures up some pretty nasty images.  It’s a word we don’t ever take too seriously but it’s a word that carries a heavy burden of meaning.

gluttony

Simply put gluttony is the habitual excess of things.  As in, if you have a habit of being excessive.  Excessiveness is your standard.  Oftentimes we think of gluttony as something that only pertains to food.  As if you can eat too much at a meal and consider yourself a glutton, but if you spend too much money shopping for non-necessities, you wouldn’t dare call yourself the g-word.

But the more I’m getting rid of the stuff in my house and in my head, I’m realizing that my entire life I’ve created this habit of desiring excess.  It’s so easy to fall into the trap of wanting more and more and our society makes it so easy to go out and get more and more.  But the pitfalls of American consumerism is just not a topic I’d care to tackle today.

I’ve been looking at this gluttonous lifestyle from every aspect, and here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

I am guilty of eating too much at meal times.
I am guilty of spending too much money on stupid, non-necessity things.
I am guilty of spending too much time watching TV.
I am guilty of spending too much time on the internet.
I am guilty of constantly checking my phone.

All of these above seem like such trivial things when you look at them individually.  And on my quest to live a more intentional life I think I’ve talked about all of them at some point on the blog or with the husband.  But what I’m finally learning is that these aren’t just things standing in my way of living intentionally.  These aren’t something I can just push aside and discount and carry on with my day.  These are habits that need to be broken.  Habits that need to be reshaped and reformed into something a little more life-giving and into something that gives me a little more help to pursue intentionality.

I don’t think the g-word is something that you should play around with.  It’s not something you can take lightly.  And it’s not something that pertains only to food.  It’s a something that will permeate all aspects of your life, if you let it.  But it’s not something that God wants from us.  He wants us to live a life free from sin, which is why He sent His Son in the first place.

I don’t know how to start tackling gluttony.  I know practically approaching each habit and tackling them one at a time will have to happen, but I don’t know what that looks like right now.

But you can bet that I’ll be sharing what works (and doesn’t work) as I continue on this journey.

Leave a Reply

