My mom is coming! My mom is coming! And here’s a recipe.

Today my mother comes into town.  A woman that has taught me a lot about life.  Like how to curl my hair with a curling iron.  And what clothes and accessories to invest money in and what to buy on the cheap.  And that buying used is okay, but not when it comes to refrigerators or sheets or underwear.

This is a woman that will call me on the phone just to talk for 45 minutes about what kind of new jeans she bought for her trip up here.  This is a woman who recorded Sharknado and sat down to watch it the way one would get all excited about a movie in a theater.  This is a woman who retired from teaching in May only to start subbing a few times a week  (Yes, she quit teaching first grade when I quit teaching first grade and now we both substitute.)

She’s one of those mothers who has an intense love for nagging other people to death, which means that by the time she will have left she will have nagged our spare room into a beautiful bedroom for future child.  She will nag all my clothes into order, she will nag my husband into order, and she cook me potato soup because I’m still doing it wrong.  (But honestly, I really am doing it wrong, because it never tastes the same.)

Future child is lucky to have a grandmother like her.  She will be a novelty, since she lives in Texas and already has a giant room filled with our childhood toys ready for grandchildren to come visit.  (A little creepy, I know.)  She will the person future child will beg to go visit when I start inheriting her nag-ness–because let’s face it, I already have.  She will tell stories to him or her about my childhood that I have long forgotten.  And she will tell these stories correctly, even though I will have to retell them later and replace my insubordination with awesomeness.

I pick her up from the airport in a little less than 3 hours, and I’ve already spent too long worrying about if my house is clean enough for her visit.  And what she will think of the new paint on the walls.  And if she will like my ideas for future child’s room.  And whether or not she will like my friends when she meets them at our adoption shower this weekend.

Yes. Future child is so lucky to have this woman as a grandmother.  We’re still trying to come up with a name for her, because “Grandma” doesn’t do her justice.  “Grandma” makes her seem old, with curly hair, and giant glasses, who sits around making pizza bread for her granddaughters….. 🙂

I’m going to celebrate my mother becoming a grandmother by posting one of my favorite grandmother’s recipes.  A quick and easy dish that I absolutely cannot wait to make for my future child’s homecoming.

Dorito Chicken

Dorito Chicken:  Serves 1 (because you won’t want to share)

Ingredients:
-Chicken
-Enchilada Sauce
-Mexican Shredded Cheese
-Doritos
-Chicken Broth
-Cream of Chicken

DSCN9170

Don’t forget to hop on over to @caitlinmfrostscloset or the Facebook pageI’m selling a bunch of stuff in my house to get ready for future child and I’m donating 100% of the profit to Compassion International’s Child Survival Program.  I figure, if I can’t help my baby survive, I can help someone else’s make it into the world.

Directions:1. Shred your chicken.  You can do this one of two ways:  buy a rotisserie chicken and shred. Or buy a whole roaster and boil it or stick it in your crockpot and cook, then shred.
2. Layer your pan with Doritos, then chicken, then Doritos, then chicken, etc. Think “lasagna.”
3.  Pour chicken broth (from a can or from your boiled or crockpot chicken), a can of enchilada sauce, and a can of cream of chicken in a bowl.  Whisk together. Pour over the Dorito chicken in a pan.
4.  Top with as much cheese as you want.
5.  Bake in over until cheese is melted and everything is hot.
6.  Eat it so fast that you forget to take a picture of it for your blog until it’s half gone.
7.  Eat it again for leftovers the next day.

One thought on “My mom is coming! My mom is coming! And here’s a recipe.

  1. This post cracks me up! But in a good way. I’m just wondering how much nagging would happen if I were still there. Darren thinks that your mom and I are too much alike – enough to kind of freak him out last time we visited your parents. 🙂
    Enjoy your visit! I’m glad she’s going to be there for your shower. I sent some things through your online registry.

Leave a Reply

