When you’re not a producer, or a creator. What do you do?

I cannot tell you how many blog posts I’m coming into about “saying No to Yes,” or “stop consuming and start producing,” or about creatives and how they need to stop comparing themselves to others and start actually creating.  I don’t know how it began, but someone somewhere realized that spending a billion hours on pinterest and blogs looking at other people doing things and wishing they had this or that and not actually doing anything themselves.  Then that person wrote about.  And the entire blog world is now up in arms about how creators need to stop looking and start creating. 

These small business owners and handmade shop creators keep rambling on about how comparison is the thief of their joy and stops them from producing their product.  And then other creators start talking about how to get rid of things in their lives in order for them to create more and blah blah blah.

Look, I get it.  I mean, I wrote an entire mini-series on the thing last year when I realized I had to much stuff in my home, my heart, and my head.

But what happens when you’re not a creator?  What happens when you’re not a small business owner, when you don’t own your own handmade shop, when you don’t blog?  What about you?

There’s an entire world outside of the internet that I think bloggers miss.  Yeah, there’s a lot of people who love to read blogs, but not a lot of people who like to write them.  And on top of that, there’s not a lot of people that consider themselves a “creator” or a “producer,” at least not in the terms that bloggers are using.

Here’s the thing.  I struggle to consider myself a part of this group of creators.  Sure, I write, so that means something.  I love a good DIY as much as the next girl and my home is covered in thrifty handmade things because I don’t have the money to buybuybuy.  But there’s a lot of other parts of me that go along with that. 

I’m a teacher, even if I don’t have a classroom.  I’m a personal chef three times a day.  I’m a homemaker, a mother, a friend, a daughter, a student, a wife, a child of God.  I like watching TV, I like reading books, I like playing with my kids, I like going on runs, I like experimenting with essential oils, I like doing a lot of things that don’t put me in the category of “creator.”

So I can’t really relate to a lot of these blog posts.  I think a lot of people can’t really relate.

And then I realized, the terms are all wrong.  It’s less about creating a product, something tangible that you can see, buy, or sell.  It’s solely about the act of creating–anything–and that idea can apply to anyone.

Day in and day out we’re called to be creators or producers.  We create meals for our family and friends, a clean house to relax in.  We produce happy children and a happy husband.  We create wonderful memories.  We produce good work, whether we’re paid for it or not.

Which is where consuming becomes a big hindrance for all of us.  Too much time seeing what other people are doing makes us stop doing ourselves.  Reading too many food blogs makes us order take out instead of creating our own meals.  Looking at too many handmade shops means we start buying instead of being happy with what we have.  Watching too much TV means I live vicariously through people constantly working toward their goals and then predictably reaching them, and I don’t set any goals myself.

So, dear readers of all blogs, dear pinteresters and instagrammers and facebookers, just know that you don’t have to start a blog, start a business, or do DIYs in order to understand what all these blog posts are saying.  Know that we’re all creators and we’re all producers of some sort day in and day out.  And if we consume too much of someone else’s creations, we have nothing for our self.

Leave a Reply

